July Update

4 07 2013
Note to self: Keep fingers well away from blender blades!

Ouch

It’s been a little while since I last posted so I thought I’d give you an update as to what I’m currently up to! This post has taken me a little while to type out due to accidentally sticking my finger in a blender the other day – I don’t recommend it!

For the last 3 months I have been working as an acting Knowledge Transfer Manager at the Horticultural Development Company. When a member of staff was whisked off by Defra to be seconded to food security project, I happened to be in the right place, at the right time, at short notice to temporarily fill her shoes!

Having had a mostly biomedical communications background, I really enjoyed this opportunity to explore a side of science that I hadn’t really come across before. One of the highlights of my time at HDC was the chance to visit a couple of farms and hear first hand how HDC-funded research is helping to make a real difference to British growers. It has also opened my eyes to some of the issues faced by growers, and how mean supermarkets are!!

I really enjoyed this secondment cover position and I’m sad that it has come to an end – but, onwards and upwards! I’m now enjoying a *little* bit of breathing space and working on some small freelance projects, including some more work with Fixstation in Australia to project manage the development of a business portfolio brochure, and editing/writing for Blackmore Group in Japan, Calico Marketing and Health Guidance in the US.

I have an exciting new venture on the horizon too…I haven’t signed on the dotted line yet so I can’t say too much about it, but I am really excited to be starting another new chapter in my career at the end of July!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

