My name is Lisa and I’m a workaholic.

6 09 2010

I’ve been working really long hours lately, sometimes staying up until midnight or 1AM to finish off some copy for a client, and working at the weekends rather than taking a much needed break. It’s not big and it’s not clever to be stressed, but I’ve always been the same – I’m just not happy being un-busy and because it’s so flattering when a client comes back for more, or recommends me to their friends, I just can’t help but say yes to new projects.

There are 2 things to do when things get on top of you: 1) relax and 2) look at the positives.

For the last two weekends I’ve managed to not work at all (well, almost) and have really enjoyed some me-time, family-time and friend-time. Over the August Bank holiday I spent 5 glorious days camping in Cornwall with my boyfriend and 9 of our friends, and then although I worked on my birthday (last Wednesday, fyi – yes, I know your card’s in the post…), I made up for it this weekend with back-to back revelry including a delicious meal at Connolly’s Deli Tapas Bar near Stratford-on-Avon (highly recommended!), ludicrous amounts of dancing and jumping around at The Assembly Rooms in Leamington Spa and a day at the Moseley Folk Festival, courtesy of boyf winning tickets just for “liking” the Purity Brewery Co. on Facebook.

Looking at the positives, despite being overworked for the last few months, I do really enjoy the challenge of freelancing and, to blow my own trumpet just a little bit, I’m pretty good at what I do! To back up this claim, today I’m celebrating my 20th positive feedback comment on Freelancer.com. It may only be a small milestone, but the best part is that I got there through sheer hard work, honesty and professionalism, unlike many of the so-called providers on Freelancer. I’ve actually completed about 60 projects since I started freelancing, which considering that was only about 7 or 8 months ago, is pretty good even if I do say so myself!

Anyway, therapy session over. Back to work. 🙂

Actions

Information

One response

6 09 2010
lisaamartin

Update: make that 21 feedback points! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

